The Local Authorities

Administration of the five municipalities of the Valmalenco is in the hands of the recently established unions of municipalities (local authorities recognised by Law 142-90). TheUnion of the Lombardy Municipalities of the Valmalenco, which includes the municipalities of Chiesa, Caspoggio and Lanzada, was set up in 2001 and the Union of the Municipalities of Spriana and Torre di S. Maria, was established in 2002.

The unions of the municipalities of the Valmalenco began as a recognised form of collaboration between the various municipalities, a joint running of specific functions which has led over time to a true administrative re-organisation, with the provision of municipal services entrusted to the unions.